Renaissance Infatuation

Zentangle 2015-096, a study of Roscoe with some accidental orbs on a Strathmore Toned Tan Artist Tile.

Ever since the Renaissance tile class with Sue I’ve been a woman obsessed.  There is just something about working on the mid-tone papers, be they the usual tan of the official Zentangle Renaissance tiles or the Strathmore Toned Tan or Tone Gray. It seems as soon as you put white to them something magical happens and everything pops. I just love it.

My three Faber-Castell Pitt Pastel Pencils for shading Renaissance tiles.

 

All of that said, I’ve not been overly enamored of shading the primarily brown tangles with graphite in all situations. So this week in the couple tiles I took time to make I played with using some colored pastel pencils in place of plain graphite. I picked up three Faber-Castell Pitt Pastel Pencils from my local art supply store in 283 (Burnt Sienna), 192 (Indian Red) and 225 (Dark Red). I haven’t really used the dark red because I haven’t yet played with adding in some red ink on my Renaissance tiles just yet. But you’ll see both of the other colors in each of the two tiles of this post.

Zentangle 2015-097, my second stacked tangle where I practiced some of the patterns from Sue’s Border Patrol class plus a few others.

Have you played around with shading with other colors on Renaissance tiles? What medium did you use, pastels, colored pencils, markers?

BTW, Alice Hendon of The Creator’s Leaf along with Jane Eileen of See Jane Run started a Facebook group dedicated to Stacked Tangles called Zentangle: Stacked and Tangled. I highly recommend checking it out! Note the first tile in this post is not stacked, but the second is.

 

Published by

Kristi Sanseraser

A creative soul who thrives on learning new things. I'm a graphics designer, knit designer, hand spinner, bookbinder, photographer, baker, cook, and learning to be a zentangler.

Leave a comment